McCarthy won't run again for speaker: 'I'll have the conference pick someone else'

October 5, 2023

Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) announced on Tuesday that he will not run again to be speaker of the House after eight Republicans joined all Democrats to vote to remove him 216-210.

Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL) made the motion to vacate the speakership and he was joined by Republican Reps. Andy Biggs (R-AZ), Ken Buck (R-CO), Tim Burchett (R-TN), Eli Crane (R-AZ), Bob Good (R-VA), Nancy Mace (R-SC), and Matt Rosendale (R-MT).

“I believe I can continue to fight, maybe in a different manner,” McCarthy said. “I will not run for speaker again. I’ll have the conference pick somebody else.”

“Doing the right thing isn’t always easy, but it is necessary,” he said, smiling. “I don’t regret standing up for choosing governing over grievance.”

“Unfortunately, four percent of our conference can join all the Democrats and dictate who can be the Republican speaker in this House,” he said about the way he was ousted.

So far, Reps. Steve Scalise (R-LA) and Jim Jordan (R-OH) have thrown their hats in the ring to replace McCarthy.

We encourage you to share this article on Twitter and Facebook. Just click those two links - you'll see why.

It's important to share the news to spread the truth. Most people won't.